Life is about..

There are a lot of experts on life. At least that’s what I hear by listening to others. Everyone seems to have a take on how life should be lived. And few are willing to take time to listen to others, let alone consider another viewpoint. I know I sometimes think my two cents counts for five but I aim to keep my mouth shut a little more often. To realize that most people have something to say if I’ll give them the time.

The one form of so called advice that really irks me is when people try to sum up all of their knowledge or worse yet, the entirety of human understanding with the phrasing ‘Life is all about..’

Timing.

Second chances.

Forgiveness.

Trying.

Making a difference.

Following your heart.

Making money.

Being true to yourself.

Compromise.

Taking chances.

Being happy.

It’s not that any of these things are inherently bad ideas. But to boil everything possible down and direct one’s life focus toward something so simplistic is self limiting. I think people usually mean well when they share words like these. They have an outlook that’s been shaped by personal experience and want others to know how to traverse a season of life better. I get that.

I just think we live in something so beautifully complex that to say something like that isn’t just cute, but is actually dangerous in how it limits our thinking. I don’t think our pursuits should ever stop including gathering more wisdom. But what if knowing that there’s a lot we don’t know was actually empowering? If I were to grab a Sharpie and shade out a pie chart of the things I don’t know versus the ones I do, I’m pretty sure I’d need a second marker. I love being able to find magnificence in the mystery of the journey. I’d rather see myself always in the process of becoming, not as something I’ve become. I know that God’s granted me the capacity to love well in this life. I’m not sure what else this life has to offer. And I’m okay with that.

Author: Jeff R

Writer, podcaster, storyteller. I believe everyone has a story worth telling.

Leave a Reply

